COUNTING MY BLESSINGS- Part #3 – Similiarities


People assume because we don’t understand the music. We have nothing in common in with Native Americans. I disagree and count this as a blessing . As I continue to do the studying on Spirit,both as a Christian and as someone with a deep respect of cultures lost.

I find myself thinking that it is a sad that we all don’t take a closer look at both our cultures and theirs. The above song is sung in Cheyenne. I have found nothing any more beautiful  than this version. ( Yes I realize that the are hundreds and maybe even thousands that would disagree with me. and Hey that okay. That’s what makes our land great is the fact we can have a difference of opinion.)

By the same token It is still Amazing Grace whether it in Cheyenne, On Bagpipes, on American Flute, Celtic or whatever version you love. The rich history/cultures of our country are being lost.

Now I am not Native American in any way shape or form and I am not here to get into political debates on what was or what will be or should have been. My Great Great Great uncle Henry H. Cross was an Indian Painter. Most of his works are on exhibit at the Gilchrist Museum in Tulsa Oklahoma. (And if you call a head before you go they will tell you when they will be on exhibit.) Having grown up with these paintings I have looked into the face of a Painting (that now hangs in my sister’s house.) That painting is of a Chief by the name of (I hope I get this right) Ha-Pinka-paw Harness ( And I truly pray that I have that correct because the last thing I would want to do is dishonor the Chief) You see he has served as protector of our house for more years than I can remember. He (always to me at least)seemed so sad. As if he was losing his family or tribe. His face with deep lines  and those ever watching eyes.

If I could do one thing in my life. I would like to know more about the Chief in the picture. The rumor of him being one of the twelve that were hung at the time of the Indian Wars has never been confirmed.  To me he is a man of great strength and sadness.

But isn’t that true of all cultures. We decide to stand up for something and it seems the minute we do, we find people trying to stop us or trying to take something away. Just like the true forefathers of this country, they were here before the founding Father’s and they will be here long after the immigrants  are gone.

so as a blessing I look to the fine heritage of  the people that were here before the founding fathers that put Washington on the Map. I am thankful that I have had the ability to see that we are different but Deep down inside we are still the same. We all worship a Spirit, (Holy Spirit) We pray to our God, and all hope for a better future for all of the cultures on this great nation.

Leave a Reply

