Religion, Spirituality and George Washington


Today my son and I got to talking about the above picture and quote from George Washington. Some of the things I believe in and some of the things he believes frequently bang head on like a couple of big horn sheep. bearing this in mind (I am going to make some comments that may get me thrown out of the American Christian Fiction Writers.) BUT I can not and will not let this one slide.

So this is my rebuttal or logic. Jason on the text from today. When the above quote was written roughly some Two hundred and thirty-six years ago. George Washington was not describing the all-powerful church. He was talking guidance for the leaders that was coming forth to lead a new nation. (Yea go read the preamble of the Constitution again.) He was talking about using the teachings of our Lord as a way of setting guidelines of right or wrong. Keeping each of us on what should have been the straight and narrow when dealing with the circumstances of right or wrong.

“Old I can not tell a lie,” George Washington believed not in the political commentary between two factions, or what the different churches thought about something. He was talking about what you try to teach your daughters, what all parents try to teach their children. RIGHT FROM WRONG, Sovereign nation, and Freedom.

You made some good points to-day (Here is where I may get kicked out of my ACFW.) about how religion try to be controlling. You know for a fact that I believe in the Lord. I believe in the spirituality of the teachings of our Lord Jesus Christ. I am not a regular church goer mainly because I haven’t found a Religion (the proper formed church that has the right to tell me what I can and can’t do.) Now I am not putting down any said religion. If one person gets one iota of something out of it that puts him on the right track to a better life. He can worship at the Church of the Holy Purple People eaters for all I care.

To this day I do not feel that any one group, any one faction, has the right to tell me what I believe in.(That includes you Jason) I also don’t believe that a Catholic Priest should or can tell people how they should live in their marriage when the said Priest hasn’t ever been married. (Hey if the Catholics want to trust the guy that’s their business.) Organized religion has its place in a lot of people’s lives. I’m all for that. Just not in mine at the moment.

I personally got saved by going through a really rough time and listening to a Gaither Vocal Band Cd. I asked our Lord Jesus Christ for help and he entered my life. I did go on to a church and was baptized. I continually fight day in and day out to keep the spirituality and Joy that I received from that particular instance. I don’t find the peace and joy sitting in a room full of opinionated people who continue to try to tell me how I should be living my life. When those same up righteous people are out on Saturday night getting drunker than I ever thought about getting.

The people who truly believe in our lord Jesus and all his teachings use their Spirituality to teach. but not by cramming their opinions down people’s throats. I guess Jason what I’m trying to say is the Religion is controlling the Spiritualism of it isn’t.

The point of gay marriage will be fought over and over again, just as abortion will, just as the slavery was. (Yeah I know but go read the emancipation proclamation speech of President Abe Lincoln) and we will have a whole new can of worms to open and argue over.

To quote one more time.
“May God Bless us everyone.” Charles Dickens (The Christmas Carol)

3 comments on “Religion, Spirituality and George Washington

  1. ok i see your point AND YOU ARE RIGHT but unfortunatly when given power over someones lifes it does not seem to stop. power corrupts abosolute power corrupts absolutly….why is it do you think is it that the lord DOES NOT get involved with day to day battles? i also had a moment to think on this gwen, and here is what was told to me……as a father i look at what i want for my children, now it is said the lord is our father and it may be rightly so. Now if the lord is our father he would want roughly the same thing any father would want, for the child to grow up become self sufficient and grow past the parent right? thats what i and many fathers like me want. right dad? so if this is the case why would someone give thier “life” to the lord? in my honest opinion he doesnt want that. what would you do if i said hey mom, dad heres my life do what you will? i think your head would explode! so in hind sight i would say that people have a good idea that has been taken WAY too far. the teachings in the bible are stories to help us understand what, where and how and a lesson from what someone else did in a simular situation…it is a very good tool when not taken too far. but when people start in with the bible is law thing i just get sick to my stomach. its not a rule book its a guideline…the lord would NEVER tell ANYONE what they can and cannot do EVER!!! trust me i know. he will let you do what you do and then “council” you afterward. being that what it is, what gives anyone the right to think they can do what the lord would not?

  2. gweyant says:

    Jason, I never ever said that The good Lord does not get involved in our daily lives. In fact if you go back and reread what I wrote you will find I was talking about daily right from wrong. I believe he is very active in our daily lives. I also believe you just made my whole point on the subject with your second sentence. spirituality needs to be used to gain wisdom and prevent this from happing. It was to gain wisdom with leading. (unfortunately a lot of this country not just religion, government but also every day people) do not use wisdom, they don’t seek it. Reread what I wrote before you go trying to put words into my mouth.

  3. ……

    I’m still learning from you, while I’m trying to achieve my goals. I absolutely liked reading everything that is posted on your site.Keep the posts coming. I loved it!…

Leave a Reply

